Skip To Main Content


(480) 541-5201


(480) 541-5201

2019 National Blue Ribbon School

Sierra’s award is in the category of Exemplary High Performing Schools

Kyrene de la Sierra, in the Kyrene School District, has just received the prestigious 2019 National Blue Ribbon Award from the United States Department of Education. Kyrene de la Sierra is among only five Arizona schools to receive this year’s coveted National Blue Ribbon recognition.

The National Blue Ribbon Award recognizes the hard work of educators, staff and students who show high overall academic performance or demonstrate progress in closing achievement gaps. Sierra’s award is in the category of Exemplary High Performing Schools, ranking Sierra among the highest performing schools in the nation.

The honor is shared by former Principal Lisa Connor and current Principal Brian Gibson, who will both travel to Washington, D.C. in November to attend the recognition ceremony honoring more than 300 schools across the country.

“I just want to say thank you and congratulations to all of the Sierra staff who put in so much effort to make this happen,” said Connor. “I’m also very proud of Sierra students, for being such hard workers.

Connor led Sierra during the rigorous application process, which she and the Sierra team completed last spring. With a strong foundation in place, Gibson is looking forward to continuing the success at Sierra.

“It is an amazing achievement,” Gibson said. “The National Blue Ribbon is one of the reasons I am so proud to be the principal here, so I can continue to build on this work and to celebrate the amazing accomplishments of our students.”

Sierra is the second Kyrene school to be named a National Blue Ribbon School. They follow Kyrene Traditional Academy, which received the award in 2015.

“It is a tremendous honor for Kyrene to have, not one, but two schools nominated and selected for the National Blue Ribbon Award,” said Kyrene Superintendent Dr. Jan Vesely. “I am incredibly proud of the Sierra staff and students for all they have accomplished under the leadership of first, Principal Connor and now, Principal Gibson.”

Read more about the National Blue Ribbon Award.

For a complete list of National Blue Ribbon Award winners, visit